Spiders and Ticks News --

Spiders and Ticks News --

Likelihood of Tick Bite to Cause Red Meat Allergy Could Be Higher Than Previously Thought

Feb. 24, 2019

— The original hypothesis was that humans developed the red meat allergy after being exposed to the alpha-gal protein through a tick that had fed previously on a small mammal. But new data suggests ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Feb. 12, 2019

— A new to science species of tarantula with a peculiar horn-like protuberance sticking out of its back was recently identified in central Angola, a largely underexplored country located at the ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Feb. 11, 2019

— The noble false widow spider, Steatoda nobilis, native to Madeira and the Canary Islands, has been introduced accidentally to countries around the globe, causing considerable concerns. Thus, a team ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Jan. 30, 2019

— Researchers have created a visual guide to help identify and control the Asian longhorned tick, which transmits a fatal human disease in its native countries and threatens livestock in the United ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Jan. 29, 2019

— The salivary glands of some tick species could become important research tools for studying how viruses are transmitted from ticks to mammals, and for developing preventive medical countermeasures. ...

read more

Why Some Mites Are Mightier Than Others: The Evolution of Lethal Fighting in a Spider Mite

Jan. 25, 2019

— Unlike most male animals, some males of the social spider mite engage in deadly fights with rival males. Their level of aggression (low, mild or high) is related to the geographical location, and the ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Dec. 18, 2018

— The biodiversity catalogue of the Iberian Peninsula spiders is now adding the discovery of a dozen new species -- from seven different families -- that are mainly found in edaphic environments ...

read more

A Versatile Vaccine That Can Protect Mice from Emerging Tick-Borne Viruses

Dec. 18, 2018

— Researchers have developed a vaccine that is effective in mice against Powassan virus, an emerging tick-borne virus that can cause life-threatening encephalitis in humans. They also show that the ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Dec. 13, 2018

— Since the arrival of the Asian longhorned tick (Haemaphysalis longicornis) in North America was first reported in New Jersey in early 2018, it has been found in eight other states in the US and, by ...

read more

US Healthcare Costs for Animal-Related Injuries Exceed $1 Billion Every Year

Dec. 11, 2018

— The healthcare costs of injuries caused by encounters with animals in the USA exceed US $1 billion every year, finds new ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Dec. 5, 2018

— In 2018, researchers at the California Academy of Sciences added 229 new plant and animal species to our family tree, enriching our understanding of Earth's complex web of life and strengthening ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Nov. 29, 2018

— Researchers report milk provisioning in Toxeus magnus (Araneae: Salticidae), a jumping spider that mimics ants. Milk provisioning in T. magnus involves a specialized organ over an extended period, ...

read more

Ointment to Counter the Effects of Brown Recluse Spider Bites Is Tested on Humans

Nov. 28, 2018

— Brazil reports more than 7,000 cases a year of poisoning as a result of the bite of the brown recluse spider; there are also reports of occurrences in North America and ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Nov. 27, 2018

— It sounds like the plot of the world's tiniest horror movie: deep in the Ecuadorian Amazon, a newly discovered species of wasp transforms a 'social' spider into a zombie that abandons ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Nov. 27, 2018

— The microorganisms that cause malaria, leishmaniasis and a variety of other illnesses today can be traced back at least to the time of dinosaurs, a study of amber-preserved blood-sucking insects and ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Nov. 20, 2018

— Biologists say the hungrier ticks are, the harder they try to find you or other hosts. The findings could have implications for the spread of tick-borne disease such as Lyme or Rocky Mountain Spotted ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Nov. 6, 2018

— Sixty-nine pharmaceutical compounds have been detected in stream insects, some at concentrations that may threaten animals that feed on them, such as trout and ...

read more

Lyme Disease Predicted to Rise in United States as Climate Warms

Nov. 1, 2018

— A new study looked at the relationship between climatic variables and the incidence of Lyme disease in 15 U.S. states. The study found that rising temperatures are expected to boost the number of ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Oct. 30, 2018

— Researchers have discovered that exposing people with phobias to their fear -- for examples, spiders for those who have arachnophobia -- at the exact time their heart beats, led to the phobia ...

read more

Spiders and Ticks News --
Oct. 24, 2018

— Using a specially designed eye-tracker for use with spiders, biologists report that their tests in jumping spiders show a secondary set of eyes is crucial to the principal eyes' ability to track ...

read more

Sunday, February 24, 2019

  • Likelihood of tick bite to cause red meat allergy could be higher than previously thought

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

  • New tarantula species from Angola distinct with a one-of-a-kind 'horn' on its back

Monday, February 11, 2019

  • The widow next door: Where is the globally invasive noble false widow settling next?

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

  • Visual guide to identify invasive self-cloning tick

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

  • Scientists explore tick salivary glands as tool to study virus transmission, infection

Friday, January 25, 2019

  • Why some mites are mightier than others: The evolution of lethal fighting in a spider mite

Tuesday, December 18, 2018

  • Broading the biodiversity catalogue of spider populations in the Iberian Peninsula
  • A versatile vaccine that can protect mice from emerging tick-borne viruses

Thursday, December 13, 2018

  • Potential range for new invasive tick covers much of Eastern US

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

  • US healthcare costs for animal-related injuries exceed $1 billion every year

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

  • 229 new species described by the California Academy of Sciences in 2018

Thursday, November 29, 2018

  • Mammal-like milk provisioning and parental care discovered in jumping spider

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

  • Ointment to counter the effects of brown recluse spider bites is tested on humans

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

  • Newly discovered wasp turns social spiders into zombies
  • Blood-sucking flies have been spreading malaria for 100 million years

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

  • Hungry ticks work harder to find you

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

  • Drug pollution concentrates in stream bugs, passes to predators in water and on land

Thursday, November 1, 2018

  • Lyme disease predicted to rise in United States as climate warms

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

  • An end to arachnophobia 'just a heartbeat away'

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

  • How spider eyes work together to track stimuli

Monday, October 22, 2018

  • Mystery of how black widow spiders create steel-strength silk webs further unravelled

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

  • Winter ticks killing moose at alarming rate

Monday, October 15, 2018

  • Potential benefits of wildlife-livestock coexistence in East Africa

Monday, October 1, 2018

  • Providers often fail to consider ehrlichia when treating tick-borne infections

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

  • Scientists take to Twitter to study flying ants, starling murmurations and house spiders

Friday, August 31, 2018

  • Allergists warn that chigger bites may cause allergic reaction to red meat

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

  • A common ancestral gene causes body segmentation in spiders and insects
  • Bigger proteins, stronger threads: Synthetic spider silk

Tuesday, July 31, 2018

  • Do spiders have a favorite color?

Monday, July 30, 2018

  • Allergy clinic finds large percentage of anaphylaxis cases from tick bite meat allergy

Thursday, July 26, 2018

  • Removing malaria-carrying mosquitoes unlikely to affect ecosystems, says report
  • Tickborne diseases are likely to increase, say officials

Thursday, July 12, 2018

  • Who got bit? By mailing in 16,000 ticks, citizen scientists help track disease exposures

Monday, July 9, 2018

  • Forest ecology shapes Lyme disease risk in the eastern US

Thursday, July 5, 2018

  • Spleen microbes of wild animals change with tick-borne illness
  • Spiders go ballooning on electric fields
  • New wasp species with a giant stinger discovered in Amazonia

Thursday, June 28, 2018

  • Out of the darkness: A new spider found deep within an Indiana cave

Thursday, June 21, 2018

  • Six new species of goblin spiders named after famous goblins and brownies

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

  • Lyme disease cases among children are on the rise in western Pennsylvania

Friday, June 15, 2018

  • Meat sensitivity spread by ticks linked to heart disease

Thursday, June 14, 2018

  • Flying spiders sense meteorological conditions, use nanoscale fibers to float on the wind
  • Allergen in red meat linked to heart disease

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

  • For 100 million years, amber freezes a tableau of tick's worst day ever

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

  • A new kind of vaccine based on spider silk

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

  • Spider glue research resolves sticky problem

Thursday, May 31, 2018

  • Bacteria ensure square meal for bloodsucking ticks

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

  • Key mechanism behind the formation of spider silk

Thursday, May 24, 2018

  • Tick bite protection: New CDC study adds to the promise of permethrin-treated clothing

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

  • World's Strongest bio-material outperforms steel and spider silk

Friday, May 11, 2018

  • Tiny spiders, big color

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

  • Scientists train spider to jump on demand to discover secrets of animal movement

Monday, April 30, 2018

  • Brown widow male spiders prefer sex with older females likely to eat them afterwards

Thursday, April 19, 2018

  • Spider silk key to new bone-fixing composite

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

  • How spiders can harm and help flowering plants

Monday, April 9, 2018

  • Scientists develop macaque model to study Crimean-Congo hemorrhagic fever

Friday, April 6, 2018

  • Climate change is wreaking havoc on delicate relationship between orchids and bees

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

  • Dispatch from the field II: Students describe an elusive spider while stationed in Borneo

Monday, April 2, 2018

  • How a protein helps bacteria outsmart the human immune system

Friday, March 16, 2018

  • Climate change promotes the spread of mosquito and tick-borne viruses

Thursday, March 15, 2018

  • When natural disaster strikes, can insects and other invertebrates recover?

Thursday, March 8, 2018

  • Hawaiian stick spiders re-evolve the same three guises every time they island hop

Thursday, March 1, 2018

  • Female hunting spiders do not respond to chemical signals given out by potential mates, preferring silk-wrapped food gifts instead

Friday, February 16, 2018

  • First multiplex test for tick-borne diseases

Thursday, February 15, 2018

  • World's most venomous spiders are actually cousins

Monday, February 12, 2018

  • Fastest spin on Earth? For animals that rely on legs, scientists say one spider takes gold

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

  • Lone star ticks not guilty in spread of Lyme disease

Monday, January 29, 2018

  • Brown recluse: Pest management tips for the spider that's not as common as you think

Thursday, January 11, 2018

  • Biologists peek into the past to see the future through tiny spider eyes
  • Spider eat spider: Scientists discover 18 new spider-hunting pelican spiders in Madagascar

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

  • Seven new spider species from Brazil named after seven famous fictional spider characters

Thursday, January 4, 2018

  • Tick exosomes may aid transmission of viruses to vertebrates
  • Aversion to holes driven by disgust, not fear, study finds

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

  • Spider's web inspires removable implant that may control type 1 diabetes
  • Social susceptibility: Leader-follower dynamics of influential individuals in a social group

Saturday, December 23, 2017

  • New species of marine spider emerges at low tide to remind scientists of Bob Marley

Friday, December 22, 2017

  • Tiny Australian rainbow peacock spiders may inspire new optical technologies

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

  • Silky secrets to make bones

Thursday, December 14, 2017

  • Horrific mating strategy appears to benefit both male and female redback spiders

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

  • Habitat counts when predators lurk
  • Dinosaur parasites trapped in 100-million-year-old amber tell blood-sucking story

Monday, December 4, 2017

  • Chance record of an annual mass emergence of enigmatic mantis-flies

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

  • Cases of unexplained anaphylaxis linked to red meat allergy

Thursday, November 16, 2017

  • Hot spots of tick-borne diseases in Mongolia

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

  • Spider silk could be used to power microphones in hearing aids, cell phones

Thursday, October 19, 2017

  • Itsy bitsy spider: Fear of spiders and snakes is deeply embedded in us

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

  • Stiff fibers spun from slime

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

  • How to grow a spine

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

  • Discovery: Bernie Sanders spider

Monday, September 25, 2017

  • Ticks are even tougher and nastier than you thought

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

  • How to remove a tick and prevent future bites

Friday, September 15, 2017

  • Tough stuff: Spider silk enhanced with graphene-based materials

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

  • Tick tock: Biologists show wildlife loss and climate change can synergistically increase tick abundance and the risk of tick-borne disease

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

  • Mosquitoes fatally attracted to deadly, sweet-smelling potion

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

  • Infection model developed for tickborne flaviviruses

Friday, August 18, 2017

  • Spider silk protein may be useful for engineering artificial cardiac tissue

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

  • Spider peptides battle superbugs and cancer

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

  • Trapdoor spider may have dispersed across the ocean from Africa to Australia

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

  • Genome sequencing shows spiders, scorpions share ancestor

Friday, July 28, 2017

  • Repairing damaged nerves, tissue, with spider threads
Google+ Linkedin

No Comments